A New Year’s Challenge

The majority of you have probably already set in stone your own personal resolutions by now. They may already be saved in your phones or even written out and stamped on the fridge. My wife, Lyndsey, and I just wanted to share with you our own personal New Year’s challenges and we’re hoping that some of you may consider taking up one or two of these on your own.

1. Set aside a time each day to dedicate to prayer.

No doubt this is on a lot of your lists, and for good reason. Lyndsey and I have taken this challenge many times, but as you could have guessed, the motivation usually dies away after a short while. This sort of diminished enthusiasm is expected; but, we can be fueled again and again. Luke 9:23 says, “Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me” (NIV). Prayer is relevant to every decision that we could make in a given day. That is exactly why our prayer lives need to be prosperous; we need His constant guidance. Oh, the adventures that we can expect when our lives are consumed with prayer…

2. Actively become involved with a church ministry.

Lyndsey and I have recently moved to Springfield, Missouri so that I can attend Evangel University. Coming here, we knew nobody; it has been an absolutely clean slate. That’s why it is up to us to seek fellowship and to make our time available to serve our community. After attending a few churches, Lyndsey and I sought the Spirit’s blessing in regards to which church He needs us to be a part of. We felt that God was placing us in the church we currently attend, Central Assembly. My first semester at EU we just attended on Sunday mornings; however, in 2013, we’re going to seek that same guidance about which ministry we believe that we can be most productive in. It is important for us to publicly acknowledge our service to the Lord.

3. Give simple thanks before each meal.

My role as a husband comes with much more than just the mere term. As a husband, God has given me the privilege of being a spiritual leader for my wife (and eventually my family). This sort of responsibility involves spiritual practice. I must intentionally lead my wife and I closer to Christ each day. We have decided that one way that I can do this is just by simply praying before each meal. This enables us to offer up thanks for the every-day things that we tend to take for granted.

We want to know what some of your resolutions are this year! Comment with some of your particular challenges and let us know if you’d like to join in with any of ours!

Comments?

